Local Government

Local government in Malaysia, according to Local Government Act 1971 of Malaysia, mean city councils, municipal councils and district councils. Local governments administrating a city are normally called City Council (Majlis Bandaraya). However, there are local authorities which are called City Hall (Dewan Bandaraya). The usage of the term "city hall" is a possible misnomer since a city hall normally refers to the building which houses a city council instead of the local council itself.